Believe In

What do you Believe In?

Warm Hands…Warm Heart

on December 5, 2010

As a Reiki practitioner I have often been told by clients that my hands feel very warm when I am treating them.  I never really gave it much thought at first but then I started thinking, my hands are usually cold so why do the warm up so much when I am giving a treatment.  When treating myself it’s almost like I have a heating pad on sometimes which is great if you’re working on sore muscles.

So I decided to do a little research and put on my science cap and see where it lead me and this is what I have found out.

The universe is made up of matter and energy.  Matter in scientific terms is atoms and molecules.  Energy can take on many forms and can change from one form to another.  The motion of atoms and molecules (matter) create a form of energy called heat and many different types of energy can be converted to heat. 

So in Reiki terms, we are working with matter and energy, individuals and ki, respectively.

Back to the science, in the first law of thermodynamics energy of an isolated system is conserved.  Therefore, to change the energy of an isolated system energy must be transferred to or from the system.  The only two ways energy can be transferred are by work and ….you guessed it… heat.

Now that I had all the theory how does this apply to Reiki and why do my hands get so warm?

A Reiki practitioner is a conduit for the universal energy to flow through our system into the clients.  Our hands, which we use to pass the energy through us, are matter (atoms and molecules).  As the energy passes through our hands it increases the speed of the matter and creates heat.

 Or if you want to look at it another way.  Remember I mentioned that many different types of energy can be converted to heat.  When a practitioner is working on a client they are using universal energy to balance the energy of the client.  The energy of the client could be viewed as the isolated system conserving their energy.  A practitioner is trying to change that energy and the only way to do that is through work or heat.  Therefore the universal energy passing through the practitioner becomes heat in order to make changes to the client’s energy.

So the next time you are receiving a Reiki treatment be mindful of the heat being generated by the practitioner’s hands.

One response to “Warm Hands…Warm Heart

  1. […] often a practitioners hands will feel warm to the touch (see previous blog post Warm Hands, Warm Heart) […]

Leave a Reply

