Believe In

What do you Believe In?

New Year’s Resolutions… Really?

on January 3, 2011

Have you made any New Year’s resolutions this year?  Or are you the type of person who doesn’t believe in New Year’s resolutions?

Personally I find New Year’s completely overwhelming.  You feel as though you have a fresh start, a new year and all but…

It always makes me think of the things I didn’t accomplish in the previous year so they of course get added to the list of things that I would like to accomplish this year and so every year the list gets longer!

And of course it does, at New Year’s people tend to make resolutions that would be impossible to keep which is why about two weeks in most of the resolutions have failed or at least that’s the way we see it.  The minute we fall off the wagon it’s all downhill from there!

My New Year’s usually goes something like this… I make the resolutions the same as everyone, lose weight, spend more time with my family, get organized, work out more, eat healthier, etc, etc, etc.  Do you notice a pattern there?  First of all none of them are very specific which just bags for failure and second of all they are huge goals to try to accomplish especially all at the same time.

And there is the first thing I noticed as well, why not set goals instead of resolutions if you’re going to do anything?

Okay and so on with my new years, I usually go to a party of some sort or at least stay up to bring in the New Year.  This can really plan havoc with your system especially after spending the last week celebrating the Christmas holidays.  I find that the older I get my recovery from this is getting longer, for example this year it probably took me 2 or 3 days to get back on track.  So if you’ve made any resolutions to start on January 1 you have just lost 2 or 3 days and maybe that’s where it all starts to fall apart.

During my 2 or 3 days of recovery I have come up with the following plan with regards to 2011 and we’ll see how it goes.  Here’s how it all started.  I asked for the book The Happiness Project for Christmas and started to read it between Christmas and New Year’s and I think I may just use some of this to build on. First of all, I like the idea of tackling different tasks/goals/resolutions every month and building on them.  It makes things much less over whelming.

So the plan…. I am going to build my own Happiness Project over the next year.  Follow the book month by month and see how it goes from there.  I am also building a 2011 To Do list.  This list is every task/project or idea that I have had or have been contemplating.  Now of course this doesn’t mean that they will all get completed but having a complete list to refer to and of course to cross off those items I complete somehow just sounds very satisfying to me.

So for me 2011 is all about goals and tasks, no resolutions, and a clean slate to start building from.  And of course happiness and being me.

I have determined that being me means no more resolutions just because the year is changing but making each and every day of 2011 count as a new beginning!  And I’m looking forward to this journey.

Leave a Reply

