Believe In

What do you Believe In?

It’s Christmas Eve Day!

on December 24, 2011

Today we celebrate the advent of Christmas with tradition.  When I was a girl my Dad would always read Twas the Night Before Christmas at my insistence every year on Christmas Eve.  I have started this tradition with my daughter as well.  Every time I read the book to her I can hear my Dad reading the same story to me.  It warms my heart to have this wonderful memory to share with my daughter.

Continuing on with the traditions, last year we started another Christmas Eve tradition that I had as a child as well with a little twist.  Every year we would be allowed to open one Christmas gift.  We have continued this tradition with our daughter except every year she will be given a new pair of pajamas to wear Christmas Eve.

And of course there are the usual Christmas Eve traditions like leaving cookies and milk out for Santa.   We baked those cookies on Day 23.  Thanks to my sister in law for an awesome recipe that was easy to make, tastes delicious and my daughter could easily help with.

Here is the recipe:

Ingredients:

3 cups all-purpose flour

1 ½ teaspoons baking powder

½ teaspoon salt

1 cup white sugar

1 cup butter

1 egg

3 tablespoons cream

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Colored candy sprinkles

 

Directions:

  1.  Sift flour, baking powder, salt and sugar together.  Cut in the butter until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs.  Stir in the egg, cream and vanilla extract.  Blend thoroughly (this usually works best with your hands).  If when done mixing your ingredients your dough is still dry and crumbly just add a little more cream.
  2. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F
  3. Roll dough out on a floured board to about ¼ to 1/8 inch thick.  Cut out shapes with a cookie cutter and decorate with different types of sprinkles.
  4. Bake at 400 degrees F for 5 to 8 minutes.

And of course we need to put out the Magic Reindeer Food we made on day 21.

My daughter’s other highlight for Day 23 was she received a letter back from Santa in the mail.  She made me read it twice and it is up with the other Christmas cards.  Thank you Canada Post!

Leave a Reply

