Believe In

What do you Believe In?

Last Week Before Christmas

on December 23, 2012

It seems like this was the longest week ever!  Here is what we have been up to this week.

This week was daughter’s preschool Christmas party which we made Candy Cane cookies for all the kids.  Daddy took the rest of them to work for the big kids there!  We had some left over red dough so we made Santa cookies just for us!  We also finished the rest of the Christmas cookies and will be giving some to the neighbours.

Santa Cookies

We also worked on a craft for presents from daughter.  Hopefully I will have them completely by Christmas, fingers crossed!

We had a playdate with daughter’s best, best friend.  There we made some ornaments for the Christmas tree and painted a snowflake.  Lots of fun!

And we also introduced daughter to a holiday classic, Sound of Music!  She loves classic movies like Wizard of Oz, Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory, Chitty Chitty Bang Bang and Mary Poppins so I figured this would be hit as well and it was.  So much so she asked to watch it again when it was done!

As I mentioned at the end of the last blog we were going to sort through all the toys to pick some out that are not played with anymore to donate.  At first daughter said that I could do that while she watched TV so I didn’t really give it a try that day.  I waited a couple of days and tried again and much to my surprise she actually helped me sort through her toys and made a ‘to keep’ pile and a ‘to give away’ pile.  I reminded her that if she gave them away she wouldn’t have them to play with anymore.  Her response… I know Mommy I want another kid to have a chance to play with these toys too!  I have to say I was almost in tears and so very proud!  So if anyone knows of a place that will take gently used toys I would love to donate them (instead of selling them at a used store).

Only two more days and it is Christmas!

 

Leave a Reply

