Believe In

What do you Believe In?

Start of Mantra Monday’s

on September 16, 2013

With the new school year upon us it often feels much like New Year’s with a fresh start and so I thought I would see if I could return to doing a little more writing for my website.

I have been interested in the study of Mantra’s since I started studying yoga seriously a few years ago.  The music aspect of the Mantra is I think what drew me to it originally.  And then it was the effect repeating a specific phrase could have on your body and mind which is often astounding.

And so I thought I would start a little piece of my blog called Mantra Monday’s were I would talk about a new Mantra I have tried or am currently trying.  While I am no expert on the subject and much of my information comes for other sources (which I will of course recognize) I thought it would be an interesting exercise.

And so here we are at the first Mantra Monday blog post.  So first things first I thought I would define exactly what Mantra means.  According to Merriam-Webster, Mantra is defined as a mystical formula of invocation or incantation or more simply defined as a sound, word or phrase that is repeated by someone who is praying or meditating.  In the everyday world, a word or phrase that is repeated often or that expresses someone’s basic beliefs.

Think back to the story you read as a kid, The Little Engine That Could…”I think I can, I think I can, I think I can”.  This is a mantra.

You can create your own mantra’s to help you through difficult times or to help you with your meditation practice or even to make it to work or school on time (I will be on time, I will be on time!).

What mantra will you use today to help you?

 

Leave a Reply

